Central Marin Sanitation Agency

The NACWA Award for Peak Performance has been awarded every year since 2005. 


Over the years, CMSA has earned recognition in numerous national, state and regional categories, and has received awards for all aspects of its operations -- shown below in the following five categories:


Wastewater Treatment and Regulatory Compliance

Employee and Workgroup Achievements

Financial Budget & Reporting   |  Public Education  |  Safety

Many of these acknowledgements were the result of comprehensive assessments of the Agency's core business processes by independent organizations. The Agency uses the results of these assessments to continually improve its operations and provide training opportunities for its staff.


CWEA Plant of the Year Staff Photo

Staff gather around the 2012 Plant of the Year trophy awarded to CMSA
from the Redwood Empire Section of the CWEA.

CMSA staff are professionals who have dedicated their careers to environmental stewardship. Generally, residents give little thought to how wastewater is collected, treated and beneficially reused once it leaves their homes or businesses. We like our customers and ratepayers to know that your community’s wastewater treatment plant is held in high regard as one of the most efficient, environmentally responsible, and forward-thinking in the state. This around-the-clock operation has performed at a high level of regulatory compliance and without incident since 2005.


California Water Environment Association (CWEA)

The CWEA awards recognize outstanding achievements within the wastewater field, and honors exceptional wastewater professionals, facilities and agencies.

2014Plant of the Year, Redwood Section;
2nd place Plant of the Year Statewide

2015Plant of the Year, Redwood Section

2016—Plant of the Year, Redwood Section

2016--Engineering Acheivement of the Year,
Chemical Storage Room Rehabilitation Project


National Association of Clean Water Agencies (NACWA)

CMSA was honored for Peak Performance Platinum 11 Level in 2015, having recieved the award for the last eleven consecutive years for outstanding compliance of the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System
(NPDES) permit limits.

Plant of the Year Award

CWEA 2012, 2014 and 2016 Treatment Plant of the Year

(2nd Place, Statewide in 2012 and 2014)


Individual Award Wall

2016 Awards from the California Water Environment Association (CWEA)

Redwood Empire Section


Anthony Smith, Mechanical Technician of the Year 

Gretchen Mueller, Community Engagement and Outreach
Person of the Year

Jon Farr, Electrical and Instrumentation Person of the Year

Abraham Clark, Murray McKinnie Award (OIT or Grade 1)

Jose Gutierrez,
Pretreatment, Pollution Prevention and Stormwater (P3S) Person of the Year 

Rob Cole (Biogas Study by Cal State Fullerton),
Research Achievement of the Year




Government Finance Officers Association
(GFOA) Awards

CMSA has received the Certificate of Achievement for Excellence in Financial Reporting for the Comprehensive Annual Financial Report (CAFR) for the past twelve consectutive years. 

The Agency has also received the Distinguished Budget Award for the past three years, and the Award for Outstanding Achievement in Popular Annual Financial Reporting (PAFR) for the last four years.


The Wastewater Treatment Agencies of Marin won the Public Education Program Award from the California Water Environment Association (CWEA) in 2014 and 2016.This award recognizes facilities that, through their outreach programs, stimulate public awareness of the importance of wastewater treatment to public health and the environment.

In 2009, the Regional Water Board (RWB) presented CMSA, in conjunction with other Marin agencies, with the Dr. Teng-chung Wu Public Education Award. This award reflects agencies that have worked together on pollution prevention projects. Awards are based on leadership, innovation, commitment, measurable results, and benefit to the environment and community.


CMSA earned the Safety Program Award from the California Water Environment Association (CWEA) each year from 2012 through 2016, and also placed second statewide in 2012 and 2013, and third in 2015.

Five awards have been recieved over the last seven years. The California Sanitation Risk Management Authority (CSRMA) has awarded CMSA various safety awards.